ECPA's Rush To Press

Tyndale author Dandi Daley Mackall receives ECPA’s
2017 Christian Book Award® for best Children’s title—
Jonah and the Fish

Carol Stream, Ill., May 3, 2017— Tyndale author Dandi Daley Mackall received the ECPA 2017 Christian Book Award® for the best children’s book at a celebration held on May 2, 2017, during the ECPA Leadership Summit in Colorado Springs, Colorado. In the ECPA Awards Celebration,  the Evangelical Christian Publishers Association (ECPA) announced winners of the 2017 Christian Book Awards® in 11 categories as well as the 2017 Christian Book of the Year®. Among the winners was Tyndale’s Dandi Daley Mackall for her August 2016 children’s release, Jonah and the Fish, illustrated by Lissy Marlin.

In Jonah and the Fish, bestselling children’s author Dandi Daley Mackall has created a fresh presentation of the story of the biblical prophet Jonah, using a creative two-sided flip book. Designed to tell the same story twice from two different points of view, the book allows the reader to enjoy the story of Jonah and then literally flip the book to read the story from the perspective of the fish that swallowed him. Utilizing humor, engaging illustrations, and an innovative format, Mackall provides readers with the added bonus of two books in one.

Linda Howard, Associate Publisher of Tyndale Kids, shared, “We are excited and grateful for this award. I remember sitting in Dandi’s house dreaming about this Flipside series not that long ago. To see Jonah and the Fish receive this honor is the perfect culmination of the creativity and effort that characterizes each of Dandi’s books and all Tyndale Kids products.”

In his comments at the awards celebration, ECPA executive director Stan Jantz congratulated publishers and authors “for being the best in their category.”  He also shared, “Publishing books is a process that requires extraordinary effort and investment on the part of a team of publishing professionals. We honor tonight the quality they produce, yet we celebrate most the impact these winning titles will have on readers, the ultimate beneficiary of these outstanding books.”

The Christian Book Award® program has recognized the absolute highest quality in Christian books since 1978. Based on excellence in content, literary quality, design, and impact, the Christian Book Award® program is the oldest and among the most prestigious awards in the religious publishing industry.  @CBAwards  #ChristianBookAwards

The Evangelical Christian Publishers Association (ECPA) is an international nonprofit trade organization comprised of member companies that are involved in the publishing and distribution of Christian content worldwide. Since 1974, ECPA has strengthened Christian publishing by building networking, information, and advocacy opportunities within the industry and throughout multiple channels so that their members can more effectively produce and deliver transformational Christian content. @ECPA

Tyndale House Publishers, founded in 1962, is the world’s largest privately held Christian publisher of books, Bibles, and digital media. Tyndale has published many New York Times bestsellers. The largest portion of its profit goes to the nonprofit Tyndale House Foundation, which makes grants to help meet the physical and spiritual needs of people around the world. Tyndale was founded to publish Living Letters, which later comprised part of The Living Bible, a contemporary paraphrase of the Bible that became a global publishing phenomenon. Tyndale now publishes the Holy Bible, New Living Translation (NLT), the translation of choice for millions of people.

Contact:  Alyssa Anderson  630.784.5152