ECPA's Rush To Press

Seven Abingdon Press Books Receive Finalist Standing from Foreword Reviews’ IndieFab Awards 

Contact:  Brenda Smotherman
Associate Publicity Manager
Abingdon Press
P: 615-749-6290

(Nashville, TN) – Abingdon Press was honored by the 2014 Foreword Reviews’ IndieFab Book of the Year Awards with seven finalist titles. Foreword’s IndieFab Book of the Year Awards program was created to discover distinctive books from the indie publishing community across a number of genres. The award winners, which will be determined by a select group of more than 100 librarians and booksellers from around the country, will be announced during a program at the American Library Association Annual Conference in San Francisco on Friday, June 26.

The publisher garnered finalist nods for: Slowing Time by Barbara Mahany in the Adult Nonfiction: Body, Mind, & Spirit category, The Book of Not So Common Prayer by Linda McCullough Moore and When God Becomes Small by Phil Needham in the Adult Nonfiction: Religion category, Man’s Best Hero by Ace Collins in the Adult Nonfiction: Pets category, Nora Bonesteel’s Christmas Past by Sharyn McCrumb in the Adult Fiction: General category, and All My Belongings by Cynthia Ruchti and Home to Chicory Lane by Deborah Raney in the Adult Fiction: Religious category.

Abingdon Press is the publishing imprint for The United Methodist Publishing House and has a tradition of crossing denominational boundaries with thought-provoking and enjoyable books. It has a commitment to providing the best, most effective religious publications available which include a wide array of quality Christian living, fiction, devotional, academic, professional, and reference titles published each year to enrich church communities across the globe. Visit them online at