rush to press news and updates

Paraclete Press announces short list for 2020 Paraclete Poetry Prize

March 16, 2020 – Judges Mark S. Burrows, Luci Shaw, and Jon M. Sweeney have announced the final “Short List of Three” finalists for the 2020 Paraclete Poetry Prize.  They are:

  • Amy Bornman
  • Deborah Burnham
  • Laura Reece Hogan

Jill Peláez Baumgaertner and Diana Woodcock are being recognized as poets of distinction and reputation who might easily have won the prize if it weren’t for the fact that the judges wanted to recognize instead poets who are newer to the craft.

From this Short List of Three, two will be chosen as winners on April 1, 2020. First prize will be published this fall by Paraclete Poetry. Second prize will be published in spring 2021. The press is also planning to publish both Baumgaertner and Woodcock next year.

For interviews with Jon Sweeney or for more information, please contact Publicist Rachel McKendree at or 1-800-451-5006 ext 301.