ECPA's Rush To Press

Nominations Open for BISG’s 2015 Industry Awards
Submit your choices for the Industry Innovation
and Industry Champion awards 

Why nominate candidates for BISG’s annual industry awards? 

Bill Kasdorf, recipient of the 2014 Industry Champion Award, Chair of BISG’s Content Structure Committee, an active member of other industry groups, and Vice President and Principal Consultant at Apex Content Solutions, recently told us why they are important:

“Because they make the explosion in innovation and the increasingly interoperable publishing ecosystem concrete. Real folks like you and me are working together to develop and advance standards like BISAC, Thema, ONIX, EPUB, EDUPUB, accessibility, and identifiers. Their efforts help bridge various parties and sectors in publishing, creating innovative solutions that make our world better. And the awards send the message that hey, you too could do that! Join the fun!”

If you are employed by a BISG member organization, we invite you to join the fun and nominate deserving candidates. Recipients will be honored at BISG’s Annual Meeting of Members on September 18, 2015, in New York City. You can nominate as many candidates as you wish by resubmitting the form. Nominate your candidates here by Wednesday July 15 for one or both of the following award categories:

  • Industry Champion Award: For an individual whose efforts have gone beyond the requirements of his or her position to advance the publishing industry while embracing BISG’s mission to facilitate innovation and shared solutions for the benefit of all companies and practitioners who create, produce, and distribute published content.
  • Innovation Award: For the company or individual who boldly reimagines what publishing is and can be.  

Two additional juried awards will also be presented at the Annual Meeting:

  • Most Valuable BISG Volunteer: Recognizes the recipient’s commitment to solving industry challenges and finding new opportunities by working collaboratively with industry peers.
  • BISG Lifetime Service Award: Recognizes an individual’s outstanding work on behalf of BISG over the course of a career.

A jury consisting of industry leaders* will review nominations and select short lists and final recipients. The jury will also select the recipient of the Lifetime Service Award and, with BISG staff, will nominate candidates and select the Most Valuable BISG Volunteer Award short lists and recipient. 

Read about our 2014 recipients here. And please hold the date for our Annual Meeting of Members on September 18, 2015 in NYC.

*The jury members are John Bohman (Penguin Random House), Angela Bole (IBPA), Sally Dedecker (Sally Dedecker Enterprises), Sam Dempsey (Baker & Taylor) Andrea Fleck-Nisbet (Workman Publishing), Randy Klinger (Capstone), Phil Madans (Hachette Book Group), Jim Milliot (Publishers Weekly), Kempton Mooney (Nielsen), Maureen McMahon (Kaplan Publishing), and Eoin Noble (Safari). ​

For more information, please contact Jeanette Zwart at

About BISG

The Book Industry Study Group, Inc. (BISG) is the book industry’s leading trade association for standardseducation, and information. BISG facilitates the connections and conversations that solve common problems, advance new ideas, and more profitably bring published content to readers. For over 35 years, BISG has provided a forum for all industry professionals to come together and efficiently address issues and concerns to advance the book community. Members include publishers, manufacturers, suppliers, wholesalers, retailers, librarians, and others engaged in the business of print and electronic media.