ECPA's Rush To Press

Katie Ganshert Wins 2016 Carol Award
for The Art of Losing Yourself

Contact: Jessica Lamb, Associate Publicist


COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo.— WaterBrook & Multnomah congratulate author Katie Ganshert on receiving the American Christian Fiction Writer’s 2016 Carol Award for her novel The Art of Losing Yourself (WaterBrook, April 2015). The Carol Award winners were announced at the ACFW Conference in Nashville, TN on August 27, 2016.

The Carol Awards are awarded each year by the American Christian Fiction Writers in recognition of the best Christian fiction published by traditional publishers in the previous calendar year. The Art of Losing Yourself won the award for Contemporary fiction.

The Art of Losing Yourself, Ganshert’s fourth novel with WaterBrook, follows the story of Carmen Hart, popular meteorologist, as she struggles to hold her life together under the weight of miscarriages and secret doubts about her marriage and God. When Carmen’s seventeen-year-old sister, Gracie, runs away from home, Carmen has no option but to take her in. Ganshert’s book is a powerful story of God using brokenness to bring about a new outlook on life.

“Ganshert’s novel is exquisite,” wrote the Romantic Times in their April 2015 review. “The emotions keep the reader invested in the characters of this gut-wrenching tale. The story flows at a wonderful pace with excellent characterization that shows the true meaning of family.” The novel was selected by reviewers as the Romantic Times 2015 Inspirational Novel of the Year.

Ganshert’s first novel, Wildflowers from Winter, won the 2013 Carol Award for debut novel. Her third novel, Broken Kind of Beautiful won 2014 Christy Award for Contemporary Romance, and was a finalist for the Inspirational Reader’s Choice Award and for the Inspy Award. Her upcoming novel, Life After, is expected to release in April, 2017. She lives with her husband and two children in Bettendorf, IA.

For additional information on The Art of Losing Yourself or Ganshert’s other works, visit

# # #

About WaterBrook and Multnomah

WaterBrook & Multnomah Books are imprints of The Crown Publishing Group, a division of Penguin Random House, LLC.  Penguin Random House (http://global. is the world’s most global trade book publisher. It was formed on July 1, 2013, upon the completion of an agreement between Bertelsmann and Pearson to merge their respective trade publishing companies, Random House and Penguin, with the parent companies owning 53% and 47%, respectively.  Penguin Random House comprises the adult and children’s fiction and nonfiction print and digital trade book publishing businesses of Penguin and Random House in the U.S., U.K., Canada, Australia, New Zealand, India and South Africa, and Penguin’s trade publishing activity in Asia and Brazil; DK worldwide; and Penguin Random House Grupo Editorial’s Spanish-language companies in Spain, Mexico, Argentina, Uruguay, Colombia, and Chile. Penguin Random House employs more than 10,000 people globally across almost 250 editorially and creatively independent imprints and publishing houses that collectively publish more than 15,000 new titles annually. Its publishing lists include more than 70 Nobel Prize laureates and hundreds of the world’s most widely read authors.

For more information on this release, please contact Jessica Lamb, WaterBrook & Multnomah,  at 719-268-1915 or