ECPA's Rush To Press

Jane Kirkpatrick Winner of 2015 WILLA Award

Contact: Lynnae Lubbers
(616)676-9185 x193
fllubbers@bakerpublishinggroup. com

Ada, Mich. (September 1, 2015)Women Writing the West (WWW) selected A Light in the Wilderness by Jane Kirkpatrick as the winner of the 2015 WILLA Literary Award for Original Softcover Fiction. The WILLA Awards represent the best of published literature set in the American West. WWW is the underwriter of this award and is a nonprofit association of writers and other literature-oriented professionals. The winning authors and their books will be honored during the WWW’s 21st Annual Conference October 9–11 in Redmond, Oregon. For the complete list of winners, please visit http://www.

A Light in the Wilderness by Jane Kirkpatrick
(Revell; ISBN 9780800722319; ebook ISBN 9781441219565; $14.99)

Based on a true story, A Light in the Wilderness is the journey of three women: Letitia Carson, a freed slave; Nancy Hawkins, a doctor’s wife; and Betsy, a Kalapuya Indian. Their kinship supplies them the strength to overcome the bitter frontier and discover what it means to be truly free in a land that makes promises it cannot fulfill. This multilayered story will grip readers’ hearts and minds as they travel the wilderness of landscape and soul into the boundless American West.

Jane Kirkpatrick is the New York Times and CBA bestselling author of more than twenty-five books. Her works have been finalists for the Christy Award, Spur Award, Oregon Book Award, and Reader’s Choice awards, and have won the Carol Award for Historical Fiction. Many of her titles have been Book of the Month and Literary Guild selections. Her works can also be read in more than fifty publications, including Daily Guideposts. Jane lives in Central Oregon.

Baker Publishing Group publishes high-quality writings that represent historic Christianity and serve the diverse interests and concerns of evangelical readers.