rush to press news and updates

ECPA presents Top Shelf Book Cover Award to 28 books and two Bibles

A record number of designs chosen as year’s best, showing growth of design excellence in industry, ARIZ., November 12, 2021 – Today ECPA announced 30 winners of the 2021 Top Shelf Book Cover Award during a live broadcast of the closing session of ECPA PubU Online, wrapping up eight days of training and connection for Christian publishing professionals.

Submissions represented a record-breaking year of wide participation among 35 publishing houses and imprints.  Judges have the freedom to choose as many top designs they feel are worthy from the submission pool, and again selected a record number of 30 winners.  This is the fourth year in a row that the number of winners has exceeded the prior years’ selections.

The winning designs represent the work of ten publishers, with Crossway taking nine awards and David Fassett at InterVarsity Press responsible for eight wins. Moody and B&H Publishing Group followed with four and three wins respectively.

“Design excellence is a growing priority for publishers as they seek to create awareness, capture reader attention, and provoke engagement with life-changing content,” states ECPA president Jeff Crosby. “I extend my sincere congratulations to each of the art directors, designers, and publishing houses whose excellence in their craft was recognized with a Top Shelf Book Cover Award this year.”

The 2021 winners of the Top Shelf Book Cover Award are:


10 Questions Every Teen Should Ask (and Answer) about Christianity

by Rebecca McLaughlin


Designer: Tyler Anthony


CALLED to Pray

by Marsha DuCille

Tyndale House Publishers

Designer: Libby Dykstra


The Courage to Stand

by Russell Moore

B&H Publishing

Designer: Stephen Crotts

Art Director: Jade Novak


Charitable Writing

by Richard Hughes Gibson and James Edward Beitler III

InterVarsity Press

Designer: David Fassett


Dangerous Virtues

by John Koessler

Moody Publishers

Designer: Spencer Fuller

Art Director: Erik M. Peterson


The Doctrine of Creation

by Bruce Riley Ashford and Craig G. Bartholomew

InterVarsity Press

Designer: David Fassett


ESV Single Column Journaling Bible, Artist Series


Designers: Jake Weidmann, Joshua Noom, Peter Voth, Ruth Chou Simons, Jess Phoenix, Lulie Wallace


Enneagram Daily Reflections Series

by various authors

InterVarsity Press

Designer: David Fassett


Getting Over Yourself

by Dean Inserra

Moody Publishers

Designer: Erik M. Peterson


“Here Are Your Gods”

by Christopher J. H. Wright

InterVarsity Press

Designer: David Fassett


Gun Lap

by  Robert Wolgemuth

B&H Publishing

Designer: Jeff Miller

Art Director: Susan Browne


Lectura fácil Series

By various authors

B&H Publishing

Designer/ Art Director: Matt Lehman


Little Pilgrim’s Progress

by Helen L. Taylor

Moody Publishers

Designers: Erik M. Peterson and Joe Sutphin


Mixed Blessing

by Chandra Crane

InterVarsity Press

Designer: David Fassett


Ministers of Reconciliation

Daniel Darling, Editor

Lexham Press

Designer: Brittany Schrock


No Longer Strangers

by Gregory Coles

InterVarsity Press

Designer: David Fassett


NIV The Jesus Bible Journal, New Testament Collection

Published by Zondervan

Designer: Passion Publishing

Art Director: Rob Jelsema


Practicing Thankfulness

by Sam Crabtree


Designer: Spencer Fuller


The Plurality Principle

by Dave Harvey


Designer: Jeff Miller


The Promise

by Jason Helopoulos


Designer/ Illustrator: Rommel Ruiz


R. C. Sproul: A Life

by Stephen J. Nichols


Designer: Jordan Singer


Reading the Times 

by Jeffrey Bilbro

InterVarsity Press

Designer: David Fassett


Recovering the Lost Art of Reading 

by Leland Ryken and Glenda Faye Mathes


Designer: Amanda Hudson


Rediscover Church 

by Collin Hansen and Jonathan Leeman


Designer: Crystal Courtney


Right Now Counts Forever 

by The R.C. Sproul Trust

Ligonier Ministries

Designer: Metaleap Creative


The Rise and Triumph of Modern Self 

by Carl R. Trueman


Designer: Spencer Fuller


Tani’s New Home 

by Tanitoluwa Adewumi

Thomas Nelson

Designer: Susanna Chapman

Illustrator: Courtney Dawson


Voices and Views on Paul 

by Ben Witherington III and Jason A. Myers

InterVarsity Press

Designer: David Fassett


Tozer on the Trinity Series 

by A. W. Tozer

Moody Publishers

Designer: Tim Green

Art Director: Erik M. Peterson


Waiting Here for You 

by Louie Giglio

Passion Publishing

Designer: Kendra Harrell


Each winner is featured at Comments by judges and designers can be viewed by clicking on each cover.  We are grateful to this year’s judges lending their expertise to this program:

  • Tyler Deeb with Misc. Goods Co.
  • Trish Mahoney with The Mahoney Studio
  • Mike Ryan with Journey Group

Winning book covers, along with judge comments, are also featured in a four-color Annual designed by Faceout Studio and printed by Color House Graphics for distribution to the industry.  Contact ECPA to be mailed a copy.

Program information, including judge bios and future submission information, can be found at TopShelfAward.comThe submission period for the 2022 Top Shelf Design Awards will open on January 1st, 2022 and close on August 31, 2022.


The ECPA Top Shelf Award program is managed by the Evangelical Christian Publishers Association (ECPA) in order to recognize design excellence in the Christian publishing industry. The membership of ECPA is made up of Christian publishers and companies providing services to the Christian publishing industry. Since 1974, ECPA has strengthened Christian publishing by building Networking, Information, and Advocacy opportunities within the industry and across multiple channels so that our members can more effectively produce and deliver transformational Christian content.  Through programs, events, communications, recognition and research, ECPA strengthens publishing communities within the industry.  The ECPA Design E-Community, PubU Design training sessions, and Top Shelf Awards are among several ECPA-driven opportunities that designers have to network, stay informed, and be recognized within the industry. For more information on ECPA programs and membership, visit or contact us at

The Evangelical Christian Publishers Association (ECPA) is an international non-profit trade organization comprised of member companies that are involved in the publishing and distribution of Christian content worldwide. Since 1974, ECPA has strengthened Christian publishing by building networking, information, and advocacy opportunities within the industry and throughout multiple channels so that our members can more effectively produce and deliver transformational Christian content.

Media contacts:
Jeff Crosby, ECPA President and CEO, ECPA, 480-966-3998,
Cindy Carter, ECPA Recognition Manager, 480-966-3998,