ECPA's Rush To Press

ECPA Announces Nine Categories for 2017 program
of The Christy Award™

Industry’s premiere Christian Fiction Award program to accept submissions March 1-31

ECPA and The Christy Award™ advisory board have announced nine submission categories for The Christy Award, the industry’s award program for recognizing excellence in Christian Fiction.  Nominations will be accepted March 1-31 in these categories:

  • GENERAL (includes women’s fiction and non-genre)
  • VISIONARY (includes fantasy and apocalyptic)
  • SHORT FORMAT (novellas, series)

Submissions are open to works of fiction written from a Christian worldview, published traditionally or independently from January 1, 2016 to March 31, 2017.  (Submitting publishers do not need to be members of ECPA.)

“The need for quality fiction books written from a faith perspective has never been greater,” says Stan Jantz, ECPA executive director.  “We appreciate the support and involvement of the publishing community, as well as the authors who write these wonderful books.”

“Writers of faith and those who support them should take heart that we live in a time of unprecedented opportunity for authentic connectedness with readers,” states Christy Award advisory board member Daisy Hutton, VP and Publisher of Fiction at HarperCollins Christian Publishing.  “We must continue to labor to create and support the kind of storytelling that our readers want and need; stories that explore what binds us together as human beings and that explore our relationship to our Creator.”

The Christy Award has honored Christian Fiction since 1999 and is named for Catherine Marshall’s novel, Christy, which has sold over 10 million copies since its publication in 1967.  ECPA recently assumed ownership and administration of the award and subsequently discontinued its fiction category in the Christian Book Award® program to focus and grow the unique opportunity of fiction in Christian publishing through The Christy Award.

“ECPA acquired The Christy Award in 2016 because our publishing members saw the value of this prestigious Christian Fiction recognition program,” explains Jantz. “With the guidance of the ECPA board and The Christy Award advisory board, our team has mapped out an aggressive plan that will bring out the best in Christian Fiction, culminating in the award celebration event on November 8 in Nashville.”

Finalists will be named on September 20 with winners announced on November 8 in Nashville at The Christy Award Celebration, to be held at Lipscomb University following the ECPA Publishing University (PUBu) conference.

To receive program updates and information, sign up here.
Program rules and submission information are here.
Program questions can be directed to


The Evangelical Christian Publishers Association (ECPA) is an international non-profit trade organization, comprised of nearly 200 member companies worldwide, representing a combined revenue of nearly $1.2 billion. Since 1974, ECPA has strengthened Christian publishing by building Networking, Information, and Advocacy opportunities within the industry and across multiple channels so that our members can more effectively produce and deliver transformational Christian content. For more information about ECPA, visit

The Christy Award™ is the foremost award honoring and promoting excellence in Christian fiction since 1999.,,

ECPA contacts:

Stan Jantz, ECPA Executive Director,,  480-966-3998
Cindy Carter, ECPA Awards & Recognition Manager,, 480-966-3998


The Christy Award™ is a registered trademark of ECPA.
The Christian Book Award® is a registered trademark of ECPA.
For more information about ECPA, contact or visit