ECPA's Rush To Press


Contact: Eva Marie Everson, Contest Director 


Ridgecrest, NC—Edie Melson, Director of the Blue Ridge Mountains Christian Writers Conference, and Eva Marie Everson, BRMCWC Contest Director, announce the winners of the 2016 Selah Awards, awarded to published authors each year during the Blue Ridge Mountains Christian Writers conference.

The Selah Awards are open industry wide and internationally to authors published by traditional and nontraditional publishing houses during the previous year. The awards were given during the awards banquet held on Wednesday evening, May 25 to a record crowd of over 400 conferees, faculty and guests. The 2015 Book of the Year award is chosen by the contest director from the top scores/first place recipients.

This year, winners were named in fifteen categories. They are (in alphabetical order according to the author’s last name):

Nonfiction Genres

Nonfiction General

Jill Lynn Buteyn & (the late) Kara Tippetts—Just Show Up (David C. Cook)

Inspiration and Gift

Cheri Cowell—365 Devotions for Peace (Zondervan)

Bible Study

Katy Kauffman—Faith, Courage, and Victory (Lighthouse Bible Studies)


Joseph Tuttolomondo (with Rosemarie Fitzsimmons)—Caged Sparrow (Portrait Writer)

Fiction Genres


Crystal Bowman and Teri McKinley—M is for Manger (Tyndale Kids)

Middle Grade Novels

Susan Thogerson Maas—Picture Imperfect (Ashberry Lane)

Young Adult Fiction

Aaron Gansky—Hand of Adoni (Brimstone Fiction: Lighthouse Publishing of the Carolinas)

Fiction: Novella

Heather Gray—An Informal Christmas (Ladybug Lit)

First Novel

Varina Denman —Jaded (David C. Cook)

Fiction: Speculative

Bonnie C. Calhoun—Lightning (Revell: Baker Publishing Group)

Fiction: Mystery/Suspense

Lynn Huggins Blackburn—Covert Justice (Love Inspired Suspense: Harlequin)

Fiction: Historical/Biblical (Tie for Third)

Cara Luecht—Gathered Waters (Whitefire)

Fiction: Contemporary Women

Cynthia Ruchti—As Waters Gone By (Abingdon Press)

Fiction: Historical Romance

Sarah Loudin Thomas—Until the Harvest (Bethany House: Baker Publishing Group)

 Fiction: Contemporary Romance

Marianne Evans—Then and Now (Pelican Book Group)

For more information, you may email Eva Marie Everson at