ECPA's Rush To Press

Baker Publishing Group Editor and Titles Named
Golden Scroll Award Winners

Contact: Lynnae Lubbers
(616)676-9185 x193
llubbers@bakerpublishinggroup. com 

Ada, Mich. (July 20, 2016)—The Advanced Writers and Speakers Association (AWSA) announced the winners of the 2016 Golden Scroll Awards at their annual banquet on Sunday, June 26, in Cincinnati, Ohio. Over four hundred women in both Christian publishing and speaking make up the AWSA, which sponsors the Golden Scroll Awards banquet. For the complete list of winners, please click here.

Andy McGuire was named Non-Fiction Editor of the Year by AWSA. McGuire is a senior acquisitions editor at Bethany House Publishers and has been acquiring nonfiction for over seven years. He has acquired and edited authors such as Al Mohler, Barbara Rainey, Jack Graham, Darlene Zschech, and USS Indianapolis survivor Ed Harrell. Previously he acquired for Moody Publishers and edited economics textbooks for an academic publisher. McGuire has a BA in creative writing from Miami University and an MA in literature from Ohio University. McGuire also writes and illustrates children’s books in his spare time. AWSA author Terri Roberts said of McGuire, “Andy showed great support and encouragement through the entire process, even though I was battling serious health challenges of stage 4 cancer. He and his staff were there for me.”

Lynette Eason won the Golden Scroll Novel of the Year Award for Always Watching. Eason is the bestselling author of the Women of Justice series, the Deadly Reunions series, the Hidden Identity series, and the Elite Guardians series. She is also the winner of an ACFW Carol Award, a Selah Award, and an Inspirational Readers’ Choice Award. She has a master’s degree in education from Converse College and lives in South Carolina.

Always Watching (Revell; ISBN 9780800723262; ebook ISBN 9781441245502; $14.99) was praised by the AWSA judges as earning “a five-star plus in our book.” In this first book in the Hidden Identity series, Olivia Edwards’s skills as a bodyguard are pushed to the limit when she must protect talk show host Wade Savage and stay out of a killer’s path.

In addition, two Baker Publishing Group titles were named winners of the Silver Scroll Merit Award. Forgiven by Terri Roberts with Jeanette Windle won in the non-fiction category, and Through Waters Deep by Sarah Sundin won in the fiction category.

Forgiven by Terri Roberts with Jeanette Windle
(Bethany House; ISBN 9780764217326; ebook ISBN 9781441229052; $14.99)

On October 2, 2006, a gunman entered an Amish schoolhouse, shot ten girls, killing five, and then took his own life. This is his mother’s story. Not only did Terri Roberts lose her precious son through suicide, she also lost her understanding of him as an honorable man. But the biggest headlines came when her Amish neighbors did the unimaginable, reaching out to the shooter’s family with comfort and forgiveness. Today Terri lives in harmony with the Amish and has built lasting relationships beyond what anyone could have thought possible.

Through Waters Deep by Sarah Sundin
(Revell; ISBN 9780800723422; ebook ISBN 9781441246103; $14.99)

Sarah Sundin takes readers to the tense months before the US entered WWII. Naval officer Ensign Jim Avery escorts British convoys across the North Atlantic in a brand-new destroyer, the USS Atwood. Back on shore, Boston Navy Yard secretary Mary Stirling does her work quietly and efficiently, happy to be out of the limelight. When evidence of sabotage on the Atwood is found, Jim and Mary must work together to uncover the culprit.

Baker Publishing Group publishes high-quality writings that represent historic Christianity and serve the diverse interests and concerns of evangelical readers.