rush to press news and updates

AWSA announces their Golden Scroll Award recipients

Michael W. Smith Wins 2019 Golden Scroll Lifetime Achievement Award

Murfreesboro, TN  –  AWSA (Advanced Writers and Speakers Association) announced the winners of the 2019 Golden Scroll Awards at the Golden Scroll Banquet, Sunday, August 27, at the Embassy Suites Conference Center in Murfreesboro, Tennessee.

The Golden Scrolls Book of the Year was awarded to Jennifer Kennedy Dean for “SEEK: 28 Days of Extraordinary Prayer” from New Hope Publishers.

The Nonfiction Book of the Year Award went to Linda Rooks for “Fighting for Your Marriage While Separated” (New Growth Press).

The Novel of the Year Award went to Cynthia Ruchti for “Miles from Where We Started” (Gilead Publishing).

The Children’s Book of the Year was awarded to two authors: Michelle Medlock Adams for “Dinosaur Devotionals” (Thomas Nelson) and Michelle Lazurek for “Uniquely You” (Elk Lake Publishing). Second place went to Michelle Medlock Adams for “C is for Christmas” (Little Lamb Books).

The Bible Study Book of the Year was awarded to Kim de Blecourt for “I Call You Mine” (New Hope Publishers). Second place went to Susan Neal for “Christian Study Guide for 7 Steps to Get Off Sugar and Carbohydrates” (Christian Yoga, LLC).

The Memoir of the Year was awarded to Becky Yates Spenser for “A Bruised Reed: Memoirs of African Orphans and Their Rescuers” (Grand Staff Publishing). Second place went to Patty Mason for “Finally Free: Breaking the Bonds of Depression Without Drugs” (Living Parables of Central Florida, Inc.).

The Christian Living Book of the Year went to Lori Roeleveld for “The Art of Hard Conversation: Biblical Tools for the Tough Talks That Matter” (Kregel Publications). Second place went to Janet Holm McHenry for “The Complete Guide to the Prayers of Jesus” (Bethany House Publishers).

The Inspirational Gift Book of the Year was awarded to two authors: Jill Swanson for “Simply Stylish — Look Great Spend Less” (Bold Vision Books) and Susan U. Neal for “Healthy Living Journal” (Christian Yoga, LLC). Second place went to Sarah Forgrave for “Prayers of Hope for Caregivers” (Harvest House Publishers).

The Historical Novel of the Year was awarded to Rebecca Price Janney for “Easton at the Crossroads” (Elk Lake Publishers).

The Romance Novel of the Year was awarded to Edie Melson for “Maiden of Iron: A Steampunk Fable” (Elk Lake Publishing).

The Contemporary Novel of the Year was awarded to Beth Vogt for “Things I Never Told You” (Tyndale House Publishers). Second place went to Deborah Raney for “Reasons to Breathe” (Gilead Publishing).

The Mystery/Suspense Novel of the Year DiAnn Mills for “High Treason” (Tyndale House Publishers). Second place went to Lynette Eason for “Holiday Amnesia” (Harlequin Digital Sales Corp.).

The Arise Daily Writer of the Year was awarded to Jennifer Slattery.

AWSA’s official magazine, “Leading Hearts,” won their fifth straight Evangelical Press Association Merit award. The “Leading Hearts” Columnist of the Year went to Karen Porter for her column, “In the Lead.” Feature Article of the Year went to Janell Rardon for her article, “Do the One Thing That Changes Everything.”

The 2019 AWSA Member of the Year Award went to Julie Coleman. AWSA founder Linda Evans Shepherd said, “Julie Coleman loves to teach the Word of God! With contagious enthusiasm, she brings hope and encouragement to her audience through rich biblical teaching.”

The Jennifer Kennedy Dean Award went to Pam Farrel. This award, according to Linda Evans Shepherd, is in honor of the late Jennifer Kennedy Dean, an AWSA author who recently passed away. “This special award recognizes someone who carries the light with excellence to a hurting world.

The Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Michael W. Smith in honor of his 35th year in ministry. He has been honored with three Grammy Awards, 45 Dove Awards, and American Music Award. Smith ministered in song and participated in a question-and-answer session hosted by CTN host Monica Schmelter, who served as emcee for the event.

Schmelter and Linda Evans Shepherd, author and AWSA founder, presented the awards and Josh Huisman, pastor of New Hope Community Church in Brentwood, performed a parody.

AWSA, the sponsor of the Golden Scroll Awards Banquet, is an outreach of Right to the Heart Ministries and consists of over 600 top women authors who both publish and speak nationally. See

The Awards Show will be broadcast on CTN’s Roku Channels at a date TBA.

Highlight Photos available for download at: