ECPA's Rush To PressAWSA and CAN Announces Golden Scroll Award Finalists


For more info please contact Linda Evans Shepherd at or 303-772-2035.

AWSA (Advanced Writers and Speakers Association) announces their finalists for the 2014 Golden Scroll Awards for Publisher, Editor, and Fiction Editor of the Year as well as their finalists for their Novel and Nonfiction Books of the Year. The winners will be announced at the 2014 Golden Scroll Awards, now a CBA sanctioned event, to be held Sunday, July 22nd from 12:30 to 3 p.m. at the World Congress Convention Center in Atlanta, GA.

Honored for outstanding ministry partnerships with their authors, the Golden Scroll Publisher of the Year finalists are Abingdon Press, New Hope Publishers, and Thomas Nelson Publishers. Editor of the Year finalists are Liz Heaney of Liz Heaney Editorial Services, Cindy Lambert of Somersault Group and Lambert Editorial, and Katara Patton of Tyndale House Publishers. The Fiction Editor of the Year finalists are Stephanie Broene of Tyndale House, Joyce Dinkins of New Hope Publishers, and Pam Pugh of Moody Publishers.

AWSA Nonfiction Book of the Year Award finalists include Standing Tall After Falling Short by Emily Parke Chase from Wingspread, Unexpected LoveGod’s Heart Revealed in Jesus’ Conversations with Women by Julie Zine Coleman from Thomas Nelson, Ragged Hope: Surviving the Fallout of Other People’s Choices by Cynthia Ruchti from Abingdon Press, and Wounded Women of the Bible: Finding Hope When Life Hurts by Dena Dyer and Tina Samples from Kregal Publications.

The Novel of the Year Award finalists include Eva Marie Everson for Slow Moon Rising: A Cedar Key Novel from Revell, The Ohana by C. W. Schutter from River Ranch Publishing, On Distant Shores by Sarah Sundin from Revell, and The Survivor by DiAnn Mills from Zondervan.

Other awards to be presented at the Golden Scrolls Award Banquet will include CAN (Christian Authors Network) Nonfiction and Novel Books of the Year awards. The CAN finalists for Nonfiction Book of the Year include I Don’t Chase the Garbage Truck Down the Street in My Bathrobe Anymoreby Dianne Barker from CrossBooks, Partly Cloudy with Scattered Worries by Kathy Collard Miller from Lighthouse Publishing of the Carolinas, I Believe in Heaven – Real Stories from the Bible, History and Today by Cecil Murphey and Twila Belk from Regal.

CAN finalists for Fiction Book of the Year include Catherine’s Pursuit by Lena Nelson Dooley from Charisma House Book Group, All My Belongings by Cynthia Ruchti from Abingdon Press, and On Distant Shores by Sarah Sundin from Revell.

In addition, the AWSA Member of the Year, the Beyond Me Award, as well as the prestigious 2014 Golden Scroll Lifetime Achievement Award will also be presented at the Golden Scroll Banquet.

Jerry Jenkins will be the keynote speaker with Stacy Hawkins Adams as emcee. Authors Carol Kent and Pam Farrel will present awards. Recording artist Gwen Smith will perform a parody written by Martha Bolton dedicated to editors and publishers

The Golden Scroll Awards banquet are open to all authors, editors, publishers, agents, booksellers and other CBA industry professionals. Tickets are $54.99. For more information or to register for the banquet, go to

AWSA, the sponsors of the Golden Scroll Awards Banquet, is an outreach of Right to the Heart Ministries and consists of over 400 top ICRS women authors who both publish and speak nationally. See