rush to press news and updates

Art of Writing webinar series adds four renown Christian novelists to present 5-minute devotionals at start of each session

First 100 to register to receive Christy Celebration Kit for November 12 winners webcast

Award-winning and bestselling Christian novelists Tessa Afshar, Terri Blackstock, Tracie Peterson, and Cynthia Ruchti will each present a 5-minute devotional as part of the ART OF WRITING WEBINAR SERIES for writers, storytellers, and publishing curators interested in Christian fiction.

They join renown novelists Lisa Wingate, William Kent Krueger, Steven James, Rachel McMillan – along with editors, publishers, and experts in Christian storytelling – to present five webinar intensives, scheduled each Thursday at 7 pm central from October 8 to November 5.  They are:

October 8:

The Power of Story to Change Hearts and Minds with New York Times bestselling authors Lisa Wingate and William Kent Krueger

October 15:

The Essence of Story: Pathway to Transformation with writing coach and award-winning novelist Steven James

October 22:

Tips for Cross-Promotional Strategies with author Rachel McMillan, marketer Thomas Umstattd, and fiction book buyer for Baker Book House, Chris Jager

October 29:

Conversations about Diversity in Christian Fiction with literary agent Jevon Bolden and a panel of editors, authors, and marketers

November 5:

Learning from Fresh Voices with a panel of editors from the named finalists in the First Novel category — on what makes a proposal shine.  Moderated by Art of Writing curator and Bethany House senior fiction publicist, Amy Lokkesmoe.

The Christy Award®

The series is priced at $79 and the first 100 to register receive a Christy Celebration Kit for the free Winners Webcast on November 12 of The Christy Award program, featuring bestselling authors Chris Fabry, Lisa Wingate, Tamera Alexander, and Steve James.

The Finalist Reveal Webcast with Chris Fabry is scheduled for October 8 at 11 am central.

Registration is required for all events and available at  Recordings will be made available to all who register.


The Christy Award® is the foremost award honoring and promoting excellence in Christian fiction since 1999, and is named for Catherine Marshall’s novel, Christy, which has sold over 10 million copies since its publication in 1967. ECPA assumed ownership and administration of the award in 2017 to focus and grow the unique opportunity of fiction in Christian publishing.  @ChristyAward  IG: @thechristyaward

The Evangelical Christian Publishers Association (ECPA) is an international non-profit trade organization comprised of member companies that are involved in the publishing and distribution of Christian content worldwide. Since 1974, ECPA has strengthened Christian publishing by building networking, information, and advocacy opportunities within the industry and throughout multiple channels so that our members can more effectively produce and deliver transformational Christian content.

Media contacts:
  Stan Jantz, ECPA President and CEO,, 480-966-3998 ext. 101
Cindy Carter, ECPA Awards & Recognition Manager, ccarter@ecpa.org480-966-3998 ext. 103