rush to press news and updates

Announcing the inaugural Paraclete Poetry Prize

September 5, 2019 — Paraclete Press welcomes submissions for the Paraclete Poetry Prize. Winners will be announced on April 1, 2020. First prize: $1,000 honorarium and book publication in Fall 2020. Second prize: $250 honorarium and book publication in Spring 2021.

Poets are welcome to submit a book-length (60-75 poems, none more than one book page in length) manuscript before January 30, 2020. A three-judge panel will select two winners. Judges will be Mark S. Burrows, Luci Shaw, and Jon M. Sweeney. It is permissible (in fact, encouraged) for some of the poems to have appeared in journals, but none of the poems are to have been previously published in book form.

  • Administrative fee for entry: $30
    Mail fee to: Paraclete Poetry P.O. Box 1568 Orleans, MA 02653
    Email manuscript as a single MS Word file attachment (very little formatting please) to:
  • No manuscripts or fees can be returned

Mark S. Burrows is a poet (The Chance of Home), translator, and scholar. His translations include Prayer of a Young Poet by Rainer Maria Rilke, and 99 Psalms by SAID. He is poetry editor for the journal Spiritus, and series editor at Paraclete Poetry/Paraclete Press. He lives in Camden, ME.

Luci Shaw is a poet, essayist, and retreat leader. She has been a published poet for more than half a century. Her latest collections are Sea Glass and Eye of the Beholder. She is also poetry editor for Crux (the quarterly journal of Regent College, where she is also Writer in Residence), and Radix, in Berkeley, CA. She lives in Vancouver.

Jon M. Sweeney is the author of more than thirty books, a critic, and the publisher at Paraclete Press. He lives in Milwaukee.

For more information contact publicist Rachel McKendree:

“Paraclete continues to issue carefully selected books of poetry. . . they have modestly put themselves into the front ranks of poetry publishers in America.”
—Ray Olson, former poetry editor, ALA Booklist

“Paraclete Press has been publishing an increasingly adventurous catalog of contemporary poetry, ranging from the late Phyllis Tickle, one of the guiding spirits of the press, to Scott Cairns and Paul Mariani.”
Library Journal