ECPA's Rush To Press

Announcing the first winner of the
“Phyllis Tickle Prize in Poetry”

Contact: Sr. Antonia Cleverly, Publicist
Tel. (800) 451-5006 x 329

Paraclete Press is pleased to announce the first winner of the Phyllis Tickle Prize in Poetry which honors our longtime friend, advisor, and member of Paraclete’s editorial board:

The Yearning Life by Regina Walton
Publication Date: October 1, 2016
(ISBN 978-1-61261-863-0 / 96 pages / Paperback / $18.00)

This prize will be awarded every other year to a poet unpublished in volume form. Regina Walton was selected for this award for her forthcoming volume The Yearning Life, to be published in October, 2016.

“These are meditative poems that seem to rise from a long and deep looking at life, in its most ordinary and familiar moments.  They invite us into the gaze, suggesting how the surfaces of things might reveal stronger truths for those who know to wait and wonder.  Across the pages they call us to consider our lives as ‘lent by the mystery and borrowed back,’ as the poet puts it, showing us what yearning might require—and yield.”  

— Mark S. Burrows, Editor for Paraclete Poetry

“With a lover’s attention to the beloved, Regina Walton attends with both yearning and delight to the world at hand, apprehending the promise of that world’s subtle but sure connection to the Love that moves all things.  Here we find the seeker’s hard-won wisdom made all the more compelling by joy and vertiginous expectation.”

Scott Cairns, author of Slow Pilgrim: The Collected Poems

Regina Walton’s poetry has appeared in Poetry EastSoundings EastqarrtsiluniHanging LooseScintilla (UK), Spiritus, Anglican Theological Review, and ARTS. An Episcopal priest, she serves as pastor and rector of Grace Episcopal Church in Newton, MA.

Please include our web address with your mention: