ECPA's Rush To Press


DALLAS, TX:  As part of its efforts to empower Christian novelists by inspiring them to join with God in the creative process, training them in the craft, and educating them in the publishing industry, ACFW celebrated significant honors at the ACFW conference Awards Gala Saturday evening, September 19, 2015 at the Hyatt Regency Dallas/Fort Worth.

“The ACFW awards—both for writing excellence and for outstanding service to the writing community—spotlight those among many who are making a difference through the way they live for Christ as well as their role in the Christian publishing world,” says Colleen Coble, ACFW CEO. “It is ACFW’s great privilege to honor these individuals through the recognitions they receive.”

Noted author Francine Rivers received the 2015 ACFW Lifetime Achievement Award. Coble says, “Few people have had the kind of impact that Francine Rivers has had through her Christian fiction. Many readers mark her books as spiritual turning points in their lives.”

Other notable honors awarded during the gala are as follows:

  • 2015 Agent of the Year:  Mary Sue Seymour – The Seymour Agency
  • 2015 Editor of the Year:  Sandie Bricker – Bling! Romance—An imprint of Lighthouse Publishing of the Carolinas
  • 2015 Mentor of the Year:  Joy Avery Melville
  • 2015 Volunteer Service Award:  Lacy Williams
  • 2015 Member Service Award: Michael Ehret

Among the significant honors within the world of Christian fiction are ACFW’s Carol Awards. “ACFW is proud to honor its namesake Carol Johnson each time the award is given,” says Contests Administrator Becky Yauger. “We want readers to know they’re finding quality books when they pick up a Carol Award nominated or winning book.”

The 2015 Carol Award winners (for the best in Christian fiction published in the previous calendar year) are as follows.


The Story Keeper by Lisa Wingate, Tyndale House, editors Sarah Mason, Jan Stob  


Chateau of Secrets by Melanie Dobson, Howard (Simon & Schuster), editor Beth Adams


With Every Breath by Elizabeth Camden, Bethany House (Baker) Publishing, editor Raela Schoenherr


A Cry from the Dust by Carrie Stuart Parks, HarperCollins Christian Publishing, editors Amanda Bostic, Natalie Hanemann


An October Bride by Katie Ganshert, HarperCollins Christian Publishing, editor Becky Philpott


The Wishing Season by Denise Hunter, HarperCollins Christian Publishing, editors Ami McConnell, L.B. Norton      


Under a Turquoise Sky by Lisa Carter, Abingdon Press, editor Ramona Richards


Second Chance Summer by Irene Hannon, Love Inspired (Harlequin), editor Melissa Endlich


A Time to Die by Nadine Brandes, Enclave Publishing, editors Jeff Gerke, Karen Ball


Storm Siren by Mary Weber, HarperCollins Christian Publishing, editor Becky Monds


For Such a Time by Kate Breslin, Bethany House (Baker) Publishing, editors Raela Schoenherr, Luke Hinrichs

ACFW’s Genesis Contest recognizes excellence in unpublished manuscripts. The 2015 Genesis Contest winners by category are:

CONTEMPORARY: Lindsay Harrel, One More Song to Sing

HISTORICAL: Jeannine Brummett, Heirlooms

HISTORICAL ROMANCE: Elizabeth Lukinuk, The Knight’s Promised Bride

MYSTERY/SUSPENSE/THRILLER: Joseph R. Courtemanche, Assault on Saint Agnes

NOVELLA: Chandra Lynn Smith, Turtle Box Memories

ROMANCE: Courtney Ballinger, Flipping Hearts

ROMANTIC SUSPENSE: Sarah Hamaker, The Dark Guest

SHORT NOVEL: Preslaysa Williams, Coming Home to Love

SPECULATIVE: Carol Eaton, Null

YOUNG ADULT: Sarah Tipton, Forgetting Yesterday

ACFW  continues to make a mark as a forerunner in Christian fiction training, education, and advocacy for the Christian publishing industry. Its nearly 3,000 members nationally and internationally focus on creating stories worth telling, stories worth reading. For more information about ACFW, contact or