ECPA's Rush To Press

Abingdon Press Wins Golden Scrolls
Novel of the Year Award


Brenda Smotherman
Associate Publicity Manager
Phone: 615-749-6290

(Nashville, TN) – The Advanced Writers and Speakers Association (AWSA) has awarded three Abingdon Press books Golden Scroll Awards honors. The awards were bestowed during a banquet held June 28, in conjunction with the International Christian Retail Show in Orlando.

The Novel of the Year Award went to The Road to Testament by Eva Marie Everson. The story follows Ashlynne Rothschild a girl who has the proverbial silver spoon in her mouth who expects to inherit a magazine empire. Her family sends her off to a small town to better understand the world beyond and readers witness her discovers and relationships in her attempt to “learn normal.”

“I was truly stunned when my name was called. The women who walked up on the stage before me to win their awards … these are authors whose work I so admire and respect. To be on the stage with them is truly an honor,” shared Everson.

Golden Scroll Merit Award for Fiction was awarded to Cynthia Ruchti’s for As Waters Gone By. The novel follows Emmalyn Ross whose husband is in prison. Now, on a self-imposed exile to Madeline Island she starts rehabbing an old hunting cottage they’d purchased when life made sense. Restoring it may put a roof over her head, but a home needs more than a roof and walls, just as a marriage needs more than vows and a license. With only a handful of months before her husband is released, Emmalyn must figure out if and how they can ever be a couple again.

A Silver Scroll Merit Award for Fiction went to Deborah Raney’s Home to Chicory Lane, book 1 in the Chicory Inn Novels. This series follows Grant and Audrey Whitman on the adventure of turning their beloved family home into a cozy bed-and-breakfast outside the fictional town of Langhorne, Missouri. Starting a business doesn’t stop the Whitmans from being parents to five children, including their youngest, Landyn, who arrives at the B&B’s grand opening with a trailer—but no husband—in tow. The Whitman’s other children each appear in the remaining four books of the five-book series. The second book in the Chicory Inn Novels, Two Roads Home, has just released from Abingdon Fiction in June 2015.

Abingdon Press is the publishing imprint for The United Methodist Publishing House and has a tradition of crossing denominational boundaries with thought-provoking and enjoyable books. It has a commitment to providing the best, most effective religious publications available which include a wide array of quality Christian living, fiction, devotional, academic, professional, and reference titles published each year to enrich church communities across the globe.  Visit them online at

AWSA, the sponsors of the Golden Scroll Awards Banquet, is an outreach of Right to the Heart Ministries and consists of over 400 top ICRS women authors who both publish and speak nationally. See