ECPA's Rush To Press

Abingdon Press Awarded Multiple
Honors in the Heart of Award Season

Brenda Smotherman
Publicity and Marketing Manager
Abingdon Press

(Nashville, TN) – June was an eventful month for publisher Abingdon Press as award season hit its precipice. 

Abingdon Press was awarded with five trophies from the 2016 Christian Retailing’s Best Awards at a special announcement ceremony held at the International Christian Retail Show (ICRS) festivities in Cincinnati, Ohio. The offerings were evaluated on their ability to speak to people’s hearts and evoke emotion, open people’s minds to new ways of thinking, and encourage and affirm Christ-like living. The Abingdon Press winners span multiple categories and include:

The publisher also garnered two gold awards from the Foreword Reviews’ IndieFab Book of the Year Awards which were created to discover distinctive books from the indie publishing community across a number of genres. The award recipients were What Every Christian Needs to Know About Passover: What It Means and Why It Matters by Rabbi Evan Moffic in the Adult Nonfiction: Religion category and Hidden Inheritance: Family Secrets, Memory, and Faith by Heidi Neumark in the Adult Nonfiction: Autobiography & Memoir category.

The Advanced Writers and Speakers Association (AWSA) has recognized Abingdon Press with three Golden Scroll Merit Awards for author Deb DeArmond’s I Choose You Today in the Nonfiction category and Deborah Raney’s books Another Way Home and Two Roads Home in the fiction category. The same books by Raney also receiving Award of Merit recognition from the Virginia Romance Writers’ HOLT Medallion Awards in the Long Inspirational category.

Abingdon Press have also recently honored with several finalist standings for forthcoming awards. The 2016 Carol Award program has selected finalists As Waters Gone By by Cynthia Ruchti in the Contemporary category, Miracle Drug by Richard L. Mabry, M.D., in the Romantic Suspense category, and Vinnie’s Diner by Jennifer AlLee in the Speculative category. Winners will be announced August 27 during a gala in Nashville as part of ACFW’s (American Christian Fiction Writers) annual conference. 

Romance Writers of America’s Faith, Hope and Love special interest chapters have also announced that two of the publisher’s books Two Roads Home by Deborah Raney and As Waters Gone By by Cynthia Ruchti are finalists in the Women’s Fiction category for the 2016 Inspirational Reader’s Choice Awards.

“Our team is honored once again to have our books recognized by our retail partners, the author community at large, and writer organizations for the impact they are making in their reader’s lives,” noted Tamara Crabtree, Executive Director, Marketing and Sales at Abingdon Press. “We work hard to offer quality life-changing literary works and this recognition offers us continued motivation in those efforts.”

Abingdon Press is the primary publishing imprint for The United Methodist Publishing House and has a tradition of crossing denominational boundaries with thought-provoking and inspirational books. Abingdon Press titles include a wide array of quality Bibles, Bible studies, small group studies, Christian living, fiction, devotional, academic, professional, and reference titles published each year to enrich church communities across the globe. Visit

# # #