Saint Louis – The 300 members of the Advanced Writers and Speakers Association (AWSA) hosted their tenth annual Golden Scroll Awards Banquet at the Crowne Plaza St. Louis Downtown, Sunday, June 27th , where they awarded the Golden Scroll Awards for Publisher, Editor, Fiction Editor and AWSA Member of the Year as well as their Lifetime Achievement Award and the Beyond Me Award.

The Golden Scroll Awards go to editors and publishing houses best demonstrating outstanding ministry partnerships with their authors. This year’s AWSA Golden Scroll Publisher of the Year Award went to Tyndale House. Author Pam Farrel said, “Tyndale is a joy to work with because of their vision to reach the world and their dedication to make God’s word readily accessible through quality materials. They treat authors like family.”

The AWSA Golden Scroll Editor of the Year Award went to Lonnie Hull DuPont of Baker Publishing Group. Author Mary Tatem said, “Lonnie offers genuine friendship and inspires confidence that helps bring out the best in my writing.”

The AWSA Golden Scroll Fiction Editor of the Year Award was presented to Sue Brower of Zondervan. Novelist DiAnn Mills says, “Sue is a professional extraordinaire. My experience with her expertise has rewarded me with a deepening of the craft and motivation to excel in the field of publishing. An added plus is I can call her a friend.”

The AWSA Golden Scroll AWSA Member of the Year Award was presented to Rhonda Rhea. AWSA founder Linda Evans Shepherd says, “Rhonda is not only an author and speaker extraordinaire, she lovingly inspires and serves her colleagues in our joint mission to reach the world for Christ."

In addition, Kathi Macias presented the first Beyond Me Award to author Rebekah Montgomery. Kathi said, “Rebekah Montgomery, the seventh of eight children and a “preacher’s kid,” received Jesus as her Savior at the age of three—and never looked back. Her servant’s heart and passion for Jesus has led her to preach and minister to countless people around the globe, without concern for self-recognition or personal reward.”

The Golden Scroll Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Sally Stuart by Susan Titus Osborn. Susan said, “Sally has selflessly contributed to the Christian publishing community by compiling and editing The Christian Writer’s Market Guide for 25 years; a remarkable achievement. Though she deserves a gold watch, we are instead giving her our highest Golden Scroll award. May Sally never retire from her mission to serve both authors and publishers.”

Author and actress Nancy Stafford keynoted the banquet with author Pam Farrel serving as the emcee. Gwen E. Smith performed the special music, including a parody dedicated to the editors and publishers written by humorist Martha Bolton. Following the dessert reception, the producer of Blind Side, Lani Netter, shared insider secrets with the AWSAs and their guests.

AWSA, an outreach of Right to the Heart Ministries, consists of over 300 top ICRS women authors who publish and speak nationally.

To schedule an interview with AWSA founder Linda Evans Shepherd, email or phone
303-772-2035. See for information about AWSA.