ACFW (American Christian Fiction Writers) 

ACFW is pleased to publicize the names of the 2010 Genesis finalists. Since its inception in 2002, the Genesis contest (originally named the Noble Theme) has been the leading fiction contest for unpublished Christian writers.

“The Genesis is the premier contest in the Christian Booksellers Association for the unpublished. It’s THE place to get noticed by a publisher.” – Colleen Coble, CEO of ACFW. 

    1. Cindy Hays
    2. Lynnette P. Horner
    3. Chris Kraft
    4. Mark Lundgren
    5. Christina S. Nelson
      1. Jeannie Campbell
      2. Sarah Forgrave
      3. Janice LaQuiere
      4. Rebecca Syme
      5. Linda Yezak
        1. Lori Benton
        2. Brenda Jackson
        3. Robert Kaku
        4. Lisa Karon Richardson
        5. Katie-Marie Stout
          1. Susanne Dietze
          2. Anne Greene
          3. Pam Hillman
          4. Lisa Karon Richardson
          5. Ruth Trippy
            1. Rich Bullock
            2. Barbara Early (double finalist with two entries)
            3. Lynda Schab
            4. Chawna Schroeder
            • ROMANTIC SUSPENSE (two-way tie for the fifth finalist slot):
              1. Valerie Goree
              2. Mindy Obenhaus
              3. Leslie Pfeil
              4. Dianna Shuford
              5. Teri Dawn Smith
              6. Terri Weldon
              • SPECULATIVE FICTION:
                1. Ben Erlichman
                2. Suzanne Krein
                3. Shelley Ledfors
                4. Andra Marquardt
                5. Holly Smit
                • WOMEN’S FICTION (three-way tie for the fifth finalist slot):
                  1. Lisa Buffaloe
                  2. Jennifer Fromke
                  3. Terri Haynes
                  4. Fay Lamb
                  5. Christina S. Nelson
                  6. Melissa Tagg
                  7. Michelle Ule
                  • YOUNG ADULT:
                    1. Angela Bell
                    2. Lin Harris
                    3. Kasey Heinly
                    4. LoraLee Kodzo
                    5. Stefanie Morris

                    ACFW president Cynthia Ruchti notes that over the life of the contest, a significant number of Genesis finalists have gone on to publication. "Among them are authors who are now multipublished and whose books appear consistently on CBA and ECPA bestseller lists, and those whose published works receive recognition through readers’ choice and industry-awarded honors. That speaks highly of the role of the Genesis Contest in helping launch author careers." 

                    From airport newsstands to Newsweek, Christian fiction continues to grow in popularity, resonating with readers looking for both faith and fiction. The growth of the genre has birthed many new writers, as evidenced by the American Christian Fiction Writers (ACFW). ACFW has over 2000 members worldwide, consisting of authors, editors, agents, publicists and aspiring writers. The Genesis contest is the only contest with ONLY inspirational categories. 

                    Winners of the Genesis contest will be announced on September 19, 2010 during the awards event at the ACFW Annual Conference in Indianapolis, Indiana. 

                    For More Information Contact:   

                    Camy Tang      

                    ACFW Genesis Contest Coordinator