rush to press news and updates

2019 Carol Award winners announced; Angela Hunt awarded ACFW Lifetime Achievement

Palm Bay, FL: During the Awards Gala at the 2019 ACFW (American Christian Fiction Writers) Conference in San Antonio, Texas, ACFW announced its 2019 CAROL AWARD WINNERS for the best in Christian Fiction published in the previous calendar year. Also announced during the Awards Gala were winners of the Genesis Award for as-yet- unpublished-authors, and other significant honors within the Christian Fiction community.

Included was the ACFW 2019 Lifetime Achievement recognition, which was awarded to prolific author, Angela Hunt.

The ACFW 2019 Carol Award winners are:


  • Where Hope Begins by Catherine West – HarperCollins Christian Publishing – Editors: Erin Healy and Becky Monds


  • The Solace of Water by Elizabeth Byler Younts – HarperCollins Christian Publishing – Editors: Jocelyn Bailey and Julee Schwarzburg

Historical Romance

  • A Light on the Hill by Connilyn Cossette – Bethany House (Baker) Publishing – Editors: Raela Schoenherr and Jennifer Veilleux


  • The Reckoning at Gossamer Pond by Jaime Jo Wright – Bethany House (Baker) Publishing – Editor: Raela Schoenherr and Luke Hinrichs


  • MissTaken Identity; The MissAdventure Brides Collection by Kimberley Woodhouse – Barbour Publishing – Editors: Rebecca Germany and Ellen Tarver


  • Just Let Go by Courtney Walsh – Tyndale House – Editors: Stephanie Broene and Shaina Turner

Romantic Suspense

  • Hidden Peril by Irene Hannon – Revell – A Division of Baker Publishing – Editors: Kristin Kornoelje and Jennifer Leep

Short Novel

  • The Rancher’s Surprise Daughter by Jill Lynn – Love Inspired (Harlequin) – Editor: Shana Asaro


  • Mark of the Raven; Book 1 of The Ravenwood Saga by Morgan L. Busse – Bethany House (Baker) Publishing – Editors: Dave Long and Jennifer Veilleux

Young Adult

  • Fawkes by Nadine Brandes – HarperCollins Christian Publishing – Editor: Becky Monds

Debut Author

  • The Story Peddler by Lindsay A. Franklin – Enclave Publishing – Editor: Steve Laube

The 2019 ACFW Genesis Award winners (unpublished) are:

  • Contemporary— Amanda Everett for Where Lupines Bloom
  • Historical— Kendy Pearson for Voice of Thunder
  • Historical Romance— Renee Ann Smith for If Dreaming Could Bring You Home
  • Mystery/Suspense/Thriller— Matt Aynes for The Reaping
  • Novella— Erin Gingrich for If Not for the Train
  • Romance— Becca Kinzer for Dear Henry, Love Edith
  • Romantic Suspense— Angela Carlisle for Secondary Target
  • Short Novel— Sami Abrams for Saving Jess
  • Speculative— Tanara McCauley for Tainted
  • Young Adult— Elizabeth Mertz for Through Deep Waters

ACFW’s 2019 Editor of the Year honor was awarded to Raela Schoenherr from Bethany House Publishers (Baker Publishing).

ACFW’s 2019 Agent of the Year honor was awarded to Linda Glaz from the Hartline Literary Agency.

As an expression of gratitude for exceptional contributions, ACFW awarded the following:

  • 2019 Mentor of the Year: Luana Ehrlich
  • 2019 Volunteer of the Year: Heather Tipton
  • 2019 Member Service Award: Emilie Hendryx Haney

ACFW congratulates each of these honorees as it celebrates Christian Fiction and the influence of storytelling. ACFW’s annual conference is representative of its investment to empower Christian novelists by inspiring them to join with God in the creative process, training them in the craft, and educating them in the publishing industry.

For more information about ACFW, contact or